Meeting of Cultural Ministers

The Meeting of Cultural Ministers (formerly Cultural Ministers Council) was established in the mid-1980s and brings together government ministers from Australia and New Zealand to collaborate on developing Australia‚Äôs arts and cultural sector. The Australian Local Government Association, Papua New Guinea and Norfolk Island have observer status on the council.

The council normally meets once a year, or more frequently if required, and comprises ministers responsible for arts and culture in Australia and New Zealand plus invited observers.

The council is advised and assisted by a Standing Committee, and has working groups which progress council priorities. The Secretariat is located in Canberra. More details can be found at the Meeting of Cultural Ministers website.